Wat Phu Khao Thong is a 50-metre chedi, or Buddhist tower, in the village of Phu Khao Thong near Ayutthaya in central Thailand. Visitors can climb as far a landing halfway up the chedi, from which the surrounding rice fields and the town of Ayutthaya can be seen. In 2014 it was possible for the public to visit the shrine inside the central tower.
In 1569, having taken Ayutthaya, King Bayinnaung of Hongsawadi (now part of Myanmar) built a large chedi in the Mon style, next to the Buddhist temple of Wat Phu Khao Thong, to commemorate his victory. Over the next two centuries the chedi fell into disrepair. In a restoration during the reign of King Boromakot (ruled 1733–1758) a new chedi in Thai style, having a square plan with indented corners, was built on the base of the ruin. The adjacent temple, founded by King Ramesuan in 1387, is still in use.
Wat Lokaya Sutharam is located near Wat Worapoh and Wat Worachettharam. The primary feature of this wat is the huge reclining Buddha image, Phra Buddhasaiyart, located in the ruins of the viharn and facing towards the East. It was constructed of bricks and cement in the middle Ayutthaya period and is 37 meters long and 8 meters high. The head is resting on a lotus and the legs overlap squarely to show the equalized toes (a sign of enlightenment and beauty). The image was restored in 1954 and again in 1989.
The head of a sandstone Buddha statue nestled in the tree roots beside the minor chapels of Wat Maha That. The temple is one of the most tourist and photographic attractions in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Ayutthaya, an ancient capital of Siam (Thailand).
Wat Phra Si Sanphet was the holiest temple on the site of the old Royal Palace in ancient capital of Ayutthaya until the city was completely destroyed by the Burmese in 1767. It was the grandest and most beautiful temple in the capital and it served as a model for Wat Phra Kaew in Bangkok.
In its final stage before its destruction of the temple was an impressive structure. Additional facilities were located on a raised platform, the three chedis, which are today the only buildings which have been restored. From all other the foundations are still preserved.
The chedi is built in the classic, Ceylonese design that is reminiscent of a bell. In every direction small chapels are recognized, lead to which steep stairs. The roof of the chapels are in turn topped with a miniature chedi. Each of the three chedi is on the eastern side assigned a Mondop where possibly footprints Buddha were.
Bang Pa-In Royal Palace, also known as the Summer Palace, is a palace complex formerly used by the Thai kings. It lies beside the Chao Phraya River in Bang Pa-in District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Province.
King Prasat Thong constructed the original complex :211in 1632, but it fell into disuse and became overgrown in the late 18th and early 19th centuries, until King Mongkutbegan to restore the site in the mid-19th century. Most of the present buildings were constructed between 1872 and 1889 by King Chulalongkorn.